NYS Point & Insurance Reduction Program Schedule

 

REDUCE YOUR INSURANCE COST AND UP TO 4 POINTS ON YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE!

Sign up by calling

JOSE DEJESUS  at (845) 313-7220

Defensive Driving Course Schedule:

 

Sat. 11/16/2019

Sat. 12/14/2019

9:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. (Bring your lunch with you) 

156 Orange Ave. (Route 208), 2nd Floor

Walden, NY 12586

 

$30.00 (cash or money order, payable in advance)

Refund Policy: Full refund when requested prior to the start of the class.

No refund on the day of the class or after.

 

Professional staff and setting, convenient location and easy parking. 

 

 

The Driver Safety Institute is an NTSI approved agency to facilitate the NTSI’s New York Traffic Survival Workshop for the 6-hour Point/Insurance Reduction Program. “The NTSI insurance reduction program is one of the surest ways to take advantage of safe driving approaches.”  

 

What are the benefits of taking this class? 

 

When you complete an approved Insurance Reduction Program class 

  • your driving knowledge will be refreshed 

  • you can reduce up to 4 points from your NYS DMV driving record (learn about the NYS driver point system) 

  • you will receive a 10% reduction of the base rate of your auto and motorcycle insurance premiums each year for three years.

 

 

 

Point & Insurance Reduction Program  

 

What is the Point and Insurance Reduction Program? 

 

The Point & Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP) is also known as the Defensive Driving Course or Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course. It is a comprehensive driver safety course which provides knowledge and techniques for safe and lawful driving. It is available throughout New York State through private companies or corporations, called "course sponsors," that are approved by DMV. Each course must meet strict standards for the type of information presented and program effectiveness. 

 

What are the benefits of taking a Defensive Driving/Accident Prevention course? 

 

When you complete an approved defensive driving class 

  • your driving knowledge will be refreshed 

  • you can reduce up to 4 points from your NYS DMV driving record (learn about the NYS driver point system) 

  • you will receive a 10% reduction of the base rate of your auto and motorcycle insurance premiums each year for three years 

 

Completion of a defensive driving/accident prevention course does not 

  • prevent a mandatory suspension or revocation 

  • eliminate your responsibility to pay a driver responsibility assessment 

  • give you a way to reduce future driver violation points 

 

How long is a classroom course? 

 

The traditional classroom course is presented in one or more sessions and includes 6-hours of instruction. Essential information about traffic safety issues such as driver attitude and behavior, defensive driving techniques, and the Vehicle & Traffic Law must be presented in each course. No formal testing is required to complete the course.  

 

How much does the course cost? 

 

The fee for both the classroom and alternative delivery methods vary for each provider. Contact the provider directly to find out the course fee.